Discover Weekly #11

Yes – it’s back. The series that almost broke the blog. It’s been standing in the corner for a long time, reflecting on its behaviour.

It’s been allowed out to play again under strict conditions – chiefly that it won’t be operating under the strict conditions that it had previously.

Rather than fixing itself on a specific number, and hence track, in the Discover Weekly playlist, it will now just focus on anything that’s been in one of those playlists that I was previously unaware of, and that I’ve been enjoying listening to. And it won’t be weekly.

And so we go to a track that popped up a few months ago that was completely new to me and that I’ve played quite a few times now. It’s only 6 years old.

Sweet Baboo is Stephen Black, described by Discogs as a “Multi talented singer/songwriter from Wales”. He’s been releasing albums since 2008, with the most recent release being this year. This one is from 2017’s Wild Imagination. Going to Discogs again, the album is described as slotting in to the folk, world and country genres.

This is why I dislike the use of genres. The above track, for me, doesn’t fit any of those. I’m not entirely sure what I’d describe it as – it just moves along in an inoffensive, but interesting way. I’d sooner just click on the track and listen to it, than be potentially dissuaded from doing so due to supposed preconceptions as to what a genre may entail. So I’m not going to try to describe it, other than to say that I like it and you might too. Click on it – you can always stop if you don’t like it.

With this track, I was sufficiently impressed to visit the bandcamp page – https://sweetbaboo.bandcamp.com/

I downloaded the above track and added it to my iTunes library and fully intended to go back and listen to some further tracks. Which of course I haven’t done. (Hangs head in shame).

And there we are – that was more enjoyable to write than the last couple of DWs. I do want to look at another Cassette Album, but unfortunately, I can’t locate the cassette in question for its photoshoot (something I feel is important – you need to see the cassette that has been neglected for so long so that it can have its moment in the sun again). Next up will most likely be another Unsung Song.

By the way – is it just me or did this song cross your mind when looking at Stephen Black’s band name?

TGG

Leave a comment

Leave a comment