Seen ’em Live #8

The companion piece to Seen ’em Live #7. This one looks at day 2 of this year’s Rewind North on Sunday 6th August.

I should firstly mention that it was still raining. We’d managed to get off the car park (a field) the previous night, and just as I was sitting at home pouring a beer, I received a message from a group of friends I’d seen earlier, asking whereabouts I was and had I got a tow rope. I’m remarkably proud of myself that I managed to respond without being smug. They did eventually get towed off by one of the fleet of tractors that had apparently descended on the car park.

On Sunday we had the relative luxury of being driven there by another couple who’d been unable to attend on Saturday (the non-driver having a broken foot, which she ingeniously protected from the elements by wrapping it in a rubble bag tied with string). It came as no surprise to be directed to a different field than the one we used on Saturday.

As well as a different car park, we had a different compere – the Rewind legend that is Clive Jackson. Also known as The Doctor. The Doctor who had a #1 hit with The Medics, of which more later. Typical quote: “I only had the one hit, so that’s why I’m standing here introducing these wonderful people who had a lot more”.

So, who did we see as we sat in our chairs getting thoroughly wet?

China Crisis – The self-proclaimed “nicest group you’ll ever meet”, Kirkby school friends Gary Daly and Eddie Lundon are an act we’ve seen a few times, including on their 40th Anniversary tour in 2022. They joke about being the warm-up act, but the songs go down well. Last time they played here, I was delighted to see debut single African And White included, but it’s dropped this time around and replaced with this, which was also pleasing to hear.

The Farm – At some point Rewind will have to stop being an 80s Festival, so it was good to see a toe being dipped in the water of the early 90s. 4 of their own songs (3 of which I recognised) and a cover of Bankrobber (keeping it 80s!) – there was a reason for them playing it but it was quite a long-winded explanation, something to do with a Hillsborough charity, I think.

Big Country – I never saw the original line-up, but the guy next to me said he had and that they were better than the current iteration. This didn’t really come as a surprise. Having said that, they were entertaining enough and I think there are a couple of them that were there back in the day. I hadn’t expected Harvest Home to get played, so that was a nice surprise.

Al McKay’s EWF Experience – You know Al McKay, surely? He was a member of Earth, Wind & Fire between 1973 and 1980 (yeah, OK – I had to look that up). The early part of the set passes me by. The playing is good, but the only song I recognise is a cover of Got To Get You Into My Life. The final three songs get everyone up on their feet though (the rain has finally stopped) – September, Boogie Wonderland and Let’s Groove (the latter recorded after Al had left Earth, Wind & Fire).

And then, just like on the Saturday, the house band arrive and there are three 15 minute sets, kicked off by…

Brother Beyond – The lead singer (indeed the only member) of BB is called Nathan Moore. I learn this because his name keeps appearing on a screen behind him. Mrs TGG and her friend with the broken foot feel the need to Google him. He’s 58 apparently. That’s a year older than me and three years older than my mate Steve (husband of the broken-footed friend). I have to admit that he looks about 15 years younger than me. He sang some songs that female members of the crowd seemed to like.

Red Box – The two hits and for reasons unexplained, a cover of California Dreamin’. I have no idea who Mr. Red Box is (I seem to recall them actually being a duo), but he seems like a really nice guy and appears genuinely humbled that people still enjoy those hits. His daughter is singing alongside him and he plugs her new album and says that the next time we see him, he’ll be supporting her. Sadly, their indie hit from 1983, Chenko, doesn’t feature, but I have added it to my list of potential Unsung Songs (quite literally unsung today).

Sonia – Annoying shouty Scouse teenager is now an annoying shouty Scouse middle-aged person. My personal highlight of her set was the halloumi wrap I purchased while it was on.

Doctor & The Medics – It happens every year. We are either “ahead of schedule” or there’s an “unexpected delay”. The Doctor will always ask for suggestions as to how to fill the gap. “What’s that? You want to hear a medley of my one hit? Oh, go on then….” Everyone is on their feet belting out Spirit In The Sky. Every year I also get a stern look from Mrs TGG for mentioning that I prefer Norman Greenbaum’s original version of the song.

Heaven 17 – Drafted in with less than 24 hours’ notice as Marc Almond was unable to appear. We’ve seen them a few times before – now Martyn Ware. Glenn Gregory and a female singer. Temptation is obviously a crowd-pleaser, but also so powerful when they play it live. Glenn’s favourite song of theirs is also mine. I’ve never seen them without it being played.

Go West – Still the original duo. Peter Cox has a great voice and they rattle through the hits and a cover of Hungry Like The Wolf for some reason. I’ve always liked We Close Our Eyes and bought the 12″ back in the day. Both Peter and Richard Drummie are instantly recognisable 38 years on from the cover of that record.

Nik Kershaw – Old Men of Arran dancing round and around and all the other hits. All good sing-along stuff and he still sounds the same. We’ve seen him previously here and he always mentions a song he wrote that someone else took to the top of the charts. He is responsible for Chesney Hawkes. The One And Only then gets played, obviously.

The Boomtown Rats – Another act who came in at short notice (on the previous Wednesday when Squeeze had to pull out as Glenn Tilbrook was unwell). I’d never seen them before – and wow, I want to see them again. There was an energy and intensity to the performance that completely conveyed itself to 20,000 folks in a field standing and watching. Sir Bob was Sir Bob, and the rest of the band were just spot on. Even Mrs TGG (who was disappointed not to see Squeeze – we’ve seen them more than any other act together) was impressed. Bookended by a couple of recent tracks, everything else was pre-1980 (i.e. their best stuff). A superb way to finish the weekend.

So that was Rewind North 2023. A weird mix of acts, but one of the most enjoyable weekends of the year for us and a lot of our friends. Hopefully we’ll be able to go again next year (which will probably be the next time I eat any halloumi).

TGG

Leave a comment

Leave a comment