Karl Wallinger R.I.P.

I was really saddened this morning to hear of Karl Wallinger’s death. As regular readers here from the start may recall, I have both of The Waterboys albums on which he contributed as a full member of the band and I was also an avid purchaser of World Party’s output and got to see them a couple of times in the early part of their career.

I’ve read a number of tributes to Karl over the course of the day from various people in the music world, and it’s clear that he was loved and admired not just for his musical and song writing ability, but also because he seems to have been a really likeable person.

If anyone remembers The Cassette Albums #1 on this blog, you will be aware of my very brief meeting with Karl. The meeting where I sent him and his bandmates back round a one way system because they had just missed their turning. They took the news better than I would have done!

Obviously I’ve been playing some World Party today when not in online meetings (at least today was a non-office day for me) and the song that seems to have lodged in my head is this one – which surprised me a little as it wasn’t one of the ones I’d expected. Still a fine tune though.

Thanks Karl, for some great tunes and I really wish I’d found the time to get to some later World Party shows as I know I’d have thoroughly enjoyed them – from a guy wearing specs and an overcoat back in 1986/7, that still feels bad about those directions.

TGG

Leave a comment

Leave a comment