Steve Harley R.I.P.

More sad news earlier, when I heard the news of Steve Harley’s death. I was visiting my mother at the time and was surprised that she remembered Make Me Smile (Come Up And See Me) when I sang the chorus to her – she doesn’t remember a lot these days and my singing is far from the best.

Steve Harley’s most commercially successful spell took place while I was still at primary school, but I do remember the aforementioned track, along with Judy Teen and Mr. Soft from that era. At some point I picked up a Best Of cassette that contained a few more songs from that era and some from a little later.

Like this one, that missed out on the Top 40 in 1979 (reached only as far as #58), but that I clearly remember hearing on the radio at the time. Looking at the release date, I’d have just started what is now referred to as Year 9 (or 3rd year at senior school), and I think there were others who also expressed a liking for this tune.

TGG

Leave a comment

Leave a comment